Win FREE electricity at Annual Meeting

Win FREE electricity at Annual Meeting

All Cuivre River Electric Cooperative members are invited to attend their cooperative’s annual meeting, Friday, August 10, at the Family Arena in St. Charles.

“One lucky person will leave the meeting as a grand prize winner of free electricity for one year,” says Cuivre River Manager of Administrative Services Kevin Hurd. The grand prize is valued at $1,500.

Two fortunate members will also leave the meeting as winners of $500 worth of free electricity. Two others will win $250 worth of free electricity.

The cooperative has traditionally offered prizes of free electricity one month at a time and will continue again this year ($200 maximum per month, September 2018 through August 2019).  More than a dozen additional attendance prizes will also be awarded and tentatively include St. Louis Cardinals and Fox Theatre tickets, plus gift cards galore.

Cuivre River and other electric cooperatives across the country encourage their members to participate in their annual meetings. Door prizes are one way to encourage participation and help attain a quorum at the annual business meeting. Members must be present to win.

 “If you pay your electric bill to Cuivre River Electric Cooperative, you’re a member and owner,” adds Hurd. “This meeting gives you an opportunity to actively participate in the democratic process that sets cooperatives apart from investor-owned or municipal utilities.”

This annual event mixes family entertainment with cooperative business. Doors open promptly at 4:00 p.m. to allow ample time for members and their immediate families to register and enjoy a meal of hamburgers or hot dogs, visit information stations and enjoy Butch Wax & the Hollywoods (performing one show 5:30–7:00 p.m.). The business meeting, which includes director elections, starts at 7:15 p.m. Attendance prizes will be awarded following the business meeting.

Based on cooperative principles, each member household or business is entitled to one vote for a director candidate in every district. One director will be elected in each of the four districts.  Those competing on this year’s ballot are:

  • Lincoln County District #3: Wayne E. Daniels, David R. Henke, Sr. and Michael (Mick) Burkemper*.
  • Warren County District #2: Keith Luecke* and Richard J. Veinot.
  • St. Charles County District #1: Mark Schulte* and Erwin Emge.
  • St. Charles County District #3: Dana Mercurio and Dale Anderson*.

The ballot order for all candidates was drawn randomly by the Nominating Committee. An asterisk (*) denotes current officeholders.

“Electricity is one of the best values we can offer,” says Hurd. “It’s not fancy but it’s our most popular prize – something every single member wants to win!”

Some restrictions apply to free electricity prizes, including a $1,500 grand prize limit, based on Cuivre River members’ average monthly residential use last year. For some members, the prize may not last a full year; for others, it may last even longer.

The Family Arena is located at 2002 Arena Parkway in St. Charles. The indoor venue offers comfortable seating, air conditioning, paved parking for thousands of attendees, plus protection from rain for meeting-goers.  Convenient access is available via Interstate 70, Highway 94, or the Page Avenue Extension (Hwy. 364).

Page Features: